dep-ui
9 months agorolling.html: Eliminate pointless `h2' and promote subheadings. master
Mark Wooding [Sat, 9 Jan 2021 16:21:45 +0000 (16:21 +0000)]
rolling.html: Eliminate pointless `h2' and promote subheadings.

No idea what I was thinking back then.  Anyway, it makes rather more
sense like this.

9 months agorolling.html: Note that the results are unreliable under some circumstances.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 9 Jan 2021 02:17:44 +0000 (02:17 +0000)]
rolling.html: Note that the results are unreliable under some circumstances.

9 months agorolling.html: Observe that the page can be saved for offline use.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 9 Jan 2021 02:17:23 +0000 (02:17 +0000)]
rolling.html: Observe that the page can be saved for offline use.

9 months agorolling-eqn.html: Use `\ell' for `l' in mathematics.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 9 Jan 2021 02:17:00 +0000 (02:17 +0000)]
rolling-eqn.html: Use `\ell' for `l' in mathematics.

It's rather clearer.

9 months agorolling-eqn.html: Add trailing punctuation to equations.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 9 Jan 2021 02:16:08 +0000 (02:16 +0000)]
rolling-eqn.html: Add trailing punctuation to equations.

As noted elsewhere, I've decided that Ian Stewart was wrong about
this.

9 months agorolling-eqn.html: Spell `Javascript' in the approved way.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 9 Jan 2021 02:13:59 +0000 (02:13 +0000)]
rolling-eqn.html: Spell `Javascript' in the approved way.

Missed this from the previous sweep.

9 months ago*.html: Use `’' consistently for closing quotes and apostrophes.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 9 Jan 2021 02:13:10 +0000 (02:13 +0000)]
*.html: Use `’' consistently for closing quotes and apostrophes.

This is hard to maintain by hand.

9 months agodep-ui.js: Use `input' events for updating deps. Factor `input_...'.
Mark Wooding [Fri, 8 Jan 2021 18:56:09 +0000 (18:56 +0000)]
dep-ui.js: Use `input' events for updating deps.  Factor `input_...'.

Somehow I missed the `input' event on all formish widgets, which is, of
course, exactly what I wanted all along.  Use this for everything,
rather than a mishmash of other widget-class-specific events.  This
means, in turn, that `input_field' and `input_radio' are almost exactly
the same function now, so factor out the common machinery.

9 months agorolling.html: Add a (mostly) reassuring privacy notice.
Mark Wooding [Thu, 7 Jan 2021 21:30:26 +0000 (21:30 +0000)]
rolling.html: Add a (mostly) reassuring privacy notice.

9 months agorolling.html: Write `Javascript' in a consistent way throughout.
Mark Wooding [Thu, 7 Jan 2021 21:29:54 +0000 (21:29 +0000)]
rolling.html: Write `Javascript' in a consistent way throughout.

Oops.

9 months agorolling.css: Use a sans face unconditionally in headings.
Mark Wooding [Thu, 7 Jan 2021 21:26:05 +0000 (21:26 +0000)]
rolling.css: Use a sans face unconditionally in headings.

This matches my style elsewhere.  Body text still uses the user's
expressed preference -- of course.

3 years agodep.js: Add optional debugging blather.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 30 Jun 2018 21:54:56 +0000 (22:54 +0100)]
dep.js: Add optional debugging blather.

Set `DEP.DEBUG' true for a firehose.

3 years agodep.js (orelse): Fix typo in the documentation comment.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 30 Jun 2018 21:53:44 +0000 (22:53 +0100)]
dep.js (orelse): Fix typo in the documentation comment.

3 years agodep.js: Report out-of-date deps as being `stale'.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 30 Jun 2018 21:53:09 +0000 (22:53 +0100)]
dep.js: Report out-of-date deps as being `stale'.

It's just shorter.

3 years agodep.js (value): Force the dep before registering a dependents.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 30 Jun 2018 21:49:23 +0000 (22:49 +0100)]
dep.js (value): Force the dep before registering a dependents.

Otherwise we'll add the dependent to the list, and then `_propagate'
will clear the list, forgetting about us.

3 years agodep.js: Fix the way `STATE' is handled.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 30 Jun 2018 21:45:49 +0000 (22:45 +0100)]
dep.js: Fix the way `STATE' is handled.

Use the correct global `STATE' variable throughout, rather than
sometimes using a per-object `state' slot; restore it properly after
changing it; and actually set the `frozen' state in `with_frozen'.

How did this ever work?

3 years agodep.js: Set up `BAD' correctly.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 30 Jun 2018 21:27:38 +0000 (22:27 +0100)]
dep.js: Set up `BAD' correctly.

Two bugs, which sort of cancelled each other out.

  * I failed to invoke `new' when I made `BAD', which meant that `BAD'
    actually ended up set to `undefined'.

  * I didn't set `DEP.val' properly if `value' wasn't passed explicitly,
    so, err, it ended up being `undefined', which is then erroneously
    considered to be equivalent to `BAD'.

Fix this silliness.

3 years agodep.js: Fix comment formatting.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 23 Jun 2018 16:41:00 +0000 (17:41 +0100)]
dep.js: Fix comment formatting.

How did it get left like this?

4 years ago*.html: Hoist CSS above scripts.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 16 Sep 2017 12:39:21 +0000 (13:39 +0100)]
*.html: Hoist CSS above scripts.

4 years agoUse HTTPS URLs where possible.
Mark Wooding [Tue, 11 Jul 2017 11:39:00 +0000 (12:39 +0100)]
Use HTTPS URLs where possible.

4 years agorolling-eqn.html: Use local MathJax installation.
Mark Wooding [Tue, 11 Jul 2017 11:21:00 +0000 (12:21 +0100)]
rolling-eqn.html: Use local MathJax installation.

The CDN moves about and is annoying.

7 years agodep.js: Conceal try/catch and try/finally behind functions.
Mark Wooding [Fri, 27 Jun 2014 16:38:31 +0000 (17:38 +0100)]
dep.js: Conceal try/catch and try/finally behind functions.

Better optimization from V8, which is apparently too stupid to apply
these simple transformations itself.

7 years agodep.js, dep-ui.js: Remove `with (MOD) { ... }' wrappers from modules.
Mark Wooding [Fri, 27 Jun 2014 15:35:16 +0000 (16:35 +0100)]
dep.js, dep-ui.js: Remove `with (MOD) { ... }' wrappers from modules.

Using `with' is apparently an excellent way of inhibiting optimization
in V8 (and probably other implementations).

8 years agorolling.html, rolling-eqn.html: Hack for mobile browsers.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 13 Apr 2013 23:17:18 +0000 (00:17 +0100)]
rolling.html, rolling-eqn.html: Hack for mobile browsers.

8 years agodep-ui.js: Add the CAPTUREP argument to `addEventListener' calls.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 13 Apr 2013 23:16:38 +0000 (00:16 +0100)]
dep-ui.js: Add the CAPTUREP argument to `addEventListener' calls.

Otherwise MicroB, at least, throws exceptions.

8 years agodep-ui.js: Add some debugging machinery.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 13 Apr 2013 23:15:50 +0000 (00:15 +0100)]
dep-ui.js: Add some debugging machinery.

The `DEP_UI.debug' function writes a trace message to the `trace'
element, if there is one.  Add a `trace' element.

8 years agorolling.html, rolling-eqn.html: Describe the calculation.
Mark Wooding [Mon, 28 Jan 2013 01:11:08 +0000 (01:11 +0000)]
rolling.html, rolling-eqn.html: Describe the calculation.

Use MathJax for equations.

8 years agorolling.html: Add credits.
Mark Wooding [Mon, 28 Jan 2013 01:10:42 +0000 (01:10 +0000)]
rolling.html: Add credits.

8 years agorolling.html: Fix apostrophe, for consistency's sake.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 19 Jan 2013 13:15:51 +0000 (13:15 +0000)]
rolling.html: Fix apostrophe, for consistency's sake.

8 years agorolling.html: Add GPL note, with links to the Git repository.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 19 Jan 2013 11:35:23 +0000 (11:35 +0000)]
rolling.html: Add GPL note, with links to the Git repository.

8 years agorolling.html: Add information about units.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 19 Jan 2013 01:40:30 +0000 (01:40 +0000)]
rolling.html: Add information about units.

Text provided by Gary Wooding; thanks.

8 years agoInitial version.
Mark Wooding [Sat, 19 Jan 2013 01:31:47 +0000 (01:31 +0000)]
Initial version.